Saturday, December 1: 7 PM – MIDNIGHT                                                            

Celebrate 17 years of the Echo Park Film Center with films, videos, music, music videos, performances, poetry, snacks, and more more more stretching from the late afternoon until midnight. Sliding scale donations in any amount go towards keeping EPFC operations up and running for the year to come! Come on down and share the love!

Los Gatitos and Beaux Mingus start the evening at 7 pm with live music. Then at 8 we’ll have the World Premieres of Super 8 films commissioned by the Echo Park Film Center, with funding provided in part by the Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts. All of the works will be projected on Super 8! Artists include Dominik Ortiz, Brittany Ko, Christina Battle, Stacy Elaine Dacheux, Karissa Hahn & Christina Nguyen, Lauren Bon, Cameron Gibson, Miyo Stevens-Gandara, Romi Maletz, and Dylan McLaughlin.

At 9 pm we’ll be announcing our 2019 LA AIR artist-in-residence recipients, and introducing them to the EPFC community with a screening of some of their previous work, alongside work from our 2018 LA AIR residents Nes Abegaze, Adee Roberson, and Nevin Kallepalli. Then we’re excited to screen Gelare Khoshgozaran’s Medina Wasl: Connecting Town, a project she started while LA AIR in 2017, and which was featured in this year’s Made in LA at the Hammer.

Then we’ll have a selection of films made by Chisa Hughes, Arely Villegas, Prima Sakuntabhai, Danielle Dickerson, Angela Peñaredondo, Christine Hipolito, Ting Ying Han, and Mitzy Zitlaly Mendoza during a 2-day ACTION! Cinema as Connection workshop led by Michelle Dizon with enrollment prioritizing people of color, LGBTQ populations, women, and low income individuals (our next one will be January 19/20); ACTION program funding provided by the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences.

We’ll also be showing one of the newest additions to our series The Sound We See: Montevideo, along with works on Super 8, 16mm, and video from a whole host of EPFC friends and family, including Lisa Marr, Eve LaFountain, Dicky Bahto, Kate Brown, Jennifer Saparzadeh, Tuni Chatterji, Chloe Reyes, and more! Since it’s an anniversary celebration, we are suggesting a donation of $17, but donations in any amount–large or small–are happily accepted. Everyone is welcome–no donation is required.


No Events

You might also like:

No Events